Relocating chats
Available in Piebald Pro Sometimes you might create a chat in one worktree, and work with the AI to build a plan, but then you want to implement that plan in the same chat but in a different worktree. Piebald allows you to relocate chats from one directory to another, which will move a chat to the specified directory and automatically rewrite all occurences of the old path to the new path across all user and AI messages and tool call inputs and outputs. To duplicate a chat, click the icon on a chat in the sidebar and choose Relocate. You’ll be prompted to select a target directory. Once you select one, Piebald will update the entire chat history to point to the new path, and the AI will never know that it worked in the old directory. You can also relocate a chat by manually editing the directory path in the config sidebar. To do that, open the chat config sidebar by clicking the icon in the top-right corner of the chat view, and edit the Working Directory field, and click Relocate:
Duplicating chats
Available in Piebald Pro Piebald also allows you to duplicate chats. All user and AI messages and all tool calls are preserved in the copy. To duplicate a chat, click the icon on a chat in the sidebar and choose Duplicate. Chat duplication requires Piebald Pro.Sharing chats
Available in Piebald Pro Piebald allows you to share local chats with anyone on the internet. To share a chat, click the ellipsis button in the chat title bar or on the chat in the sidebar. When you share a chat, you’re prompted to select the number of days that that chat should live for before expiring. You can choose 1, 3, 5, or 7 days, and after that time the entire chat will be deleted and won’t be accessible any longer. Sharing a chat includes all data in the chat, including messages, tool calls, images/files attached to the chat. Shared chats are visible to anyone with the link. Only share the link with people you want to be able to see the chat data.
Protecting chats from damage when you close the app
Available in Piebald Pro If you have Piebald sessions that are still generating, and you hit the close button, Piebald will warn you about those sessions. You can then:- Pause the sessions.
- Close anyway, marking each generating session as cancelled.
